Growing pains

Tomorrow will mark 3 weeks that we have been living in Colorado. Seems super long and incredibly short at the same time!  We have been adjusting well, the kids remarkably so!  I think that I have had the hardest time.

Our backyard won't have grass until the spring, but the girls sure love playing in the dirt!

Our backyard won’t have grass until the spring, but the girls sure love playing in the dirt!

Moving here means that for the first time in 3+ years, John will be going into an office everyday.  That in itself was a huge adjustment to me because I had been quite spoiled having an extra hand every once and awhile.  It also meant he saw the kids and me on his lunch break so I got some adult conversation. I haven’t made any friends yet (met some nice people, but friendships don’t happen automatically!) so I can go an entire day with no adult contact until John gets home right at dinner time.  That is difficult!

It is no Publix, but our local grocery store has a fun horse you can ride for a penny!

It is no Publix, but our local grocery store has a fun horse you can ride for a penny!

I miss my friends so much and I miss the quick text of “Hey, let’s meet up at Chick-fil-a and let the kids play and we can chat” I know I will get there, but it is rough.

Valentine's Tea Party at Kiley's school (Yes, they served actual tea to kindergarteners.  Kiley didn't even try it!)

Valentine’s Tea Party at Kiley’s school (Yes, they served actual tea to kindergarteners. Kiley didn’t even try it!)

With the up and down weather, we have all had a consistently runny nose and cough. Poor Gavin had it the worse- it resulted in a double ear infection (a first in my family!) with a fever spike of 104.4. I thought for sure I was going to have to take him to the hospital! This was when it was hard to be away from family because if I did end up taking him to the hospital, all the kids had to come. Thankfully, he was able to get on meds and he cleared right up!

Another snow day on President's Day!

Another snow day on President’s Day!

We have had a little more snow, but nothing compared to what we are supposed to get this weekend. I have quickly learned that my girl’s snow attire is not sufficient and that when snow melts, the dirt just cakes onto your shoes and will not come off! That is fun to clean!

Gavin's new trick.  He is so proud of himself!

Gavin’s new trick. He is so proud of himself!


Kiley is somewhat enjoying school. She is only there for 3 hours, but she said it is all boring work. I think since they are there for such a short amount of time, they do barely any playing, except for recess. When she was in all day kindergarten, they had center time and computer time and things like that, but I think they just run out of time. We are teasing her like crazy because she can’t remember any of her friend’s names!

Leave a Reply

